

#### 2017 AGM Minutes

# Saskatchewan Music Festival Association, Annual General Meeting October 28, 2017 Manitou Springs Hotel & Convention Centre, Manitou Beach, SK

The meeting was called to order at 10:33 a.m. by President Karen Unger.

Tammy Villeneuve, accompanied by Bonnie Nicholson, led the singing of O Canada. This was followed by a moment of silence in memory of volunteers and committee members departed.

Karen Unger appointed Nancy Toppings as recording secretary.

Motion to approve the agenda with the following change:

Tim Ouellette, Industry Consultant, Tourism Saskatchewan, regrets he cannot attend to bring greetings.

Linda Swab/Doris Lazecki CARRIED

The roll call was conducted by Karen MacCallum. Representatives from 23 District Festivals were present: Battlefords, Biggar, Carnduff, Central Sask, Eston, Gravelbourg, Kindersley, Kipling, Mainline, Meadow Lake, Melfort, Moose Jaw, Prince Albert, Quill Plains, Regina, Rosetown, Sask Valley, Saskatoon, Shaunavon, Swift Current, Twin Rivers, Watrous and Weyburn.

Karen MacCallum announced two Board positions to be filled, one 2-year position and one 3-year position. Jeri Ryba (Moose Jaw) has been nominated for the 2-year position, and Dianne Gryba (Battlefords) has been nominated for the 3-year position. Karen called for further nominations from the floor. None were forthcoming.

The minutes of the 2016 AGM as recorded in the Annual Report were presented. The following error was noted under New Business: "The 2017 Provincial Finals will be held in Regina on June 2-4 in Saskatoon at the U of S Campus."

Motion: that the minutes be approved as amended Wendy Thienes/Dianne Gryba CARRIED

## **Business Arising**

Executive Director Carol Donhauser, in the absence of Finance Chair Sherry Sproule, presented the auditor's report as printed on page 67 of the Annual Report.

Total Assets for 2017 --- \$744,367 Total Liabilities --- \$221,102 Net Assets --- \$523,265

Motion: to accept the auditor's report

Tammy Villeneuve/Sandra Senga CARRIED

Motion: to appoint Marcia Herback as Auditor for the 2017-2018 fiscal year

Jeri Ryba/Patricia Keefe CARRIED

Karen MacCallum made the 2<sup>nd</sup> call for nominations from the floor. None were received.

Karen Unger presented an overview of the 2017 Annual Reports.

Motion: to adopt the annual report as presented

Joanne Meszaros/Claire Seibold CARRIED



# Motion: to ratify the motions of the board from the past fiscal year Fran Atkinson/Kelly Stein CARRIED

## **New Business**

The 2018 Wallis Opera Competition will be held on February 24-25 on the University of Regina Campus, Riddell Centre, Main Theatre. Judges are Brian Deedrick and Dominique Labelle.

The 2018 Provincial Finals will be held on June 1-3 in Saskatoon at the University of Saskatchewan Campus.

The 2018 FCMF Conference/AGM/National Music Festival will be in Sackville, NB from August 12-18.

Karen Unger acknowledged the continuing support of the Saskatchewan Lotteries Trust Fund for Sport, Culture and Recreation.

Laureen Kells, Past President of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers' Association (SRMTA) brought greetings from their association and highlighted the importance of SMFA and SRMTA working together.

Greetings from the following representative organizations are found in the Conference Program: Saskatchewan Band Association (SBA), Saskatchewan Choral Federation (SCF), Saskatchewan Orchestral Association (SOA), Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers' Association (SRMTA).

Greetings from the Federation of Canadian Music Festivals (FCMF) President, Joy MacFarlane-Burton, are found in the Conference Program. Joy is a Past President of SMFA. Karen MacCallum is the Saskatchewan representative on the FCMF Board of Governors. Karen Unger acknowledged their contributions to the music festival movement at the local, provincial and national levels.

Karen MacCallum made the third and last call for nominations from the floor. There were none.

# Motion to elect by acclamation: Jeri Ryba for a 2-year term, and Dianne Gryba for a 3-year term. Bonnie Nicholson/Hannah Marple CARRIED

Jeri Ryba and Dianne Gryba were declared elected by acclamation. Dianne and Jeri then introduced themselves and outlined their involvement with music festivals and their music communities.

Karen Unger encouraged delegates to consider future involvement on the Board of Directors. A Board Meeting will take place immediately following the conclusion of conference in the Venn Meeting Room.

Karen introduced the 2017-2018 Board: Directors – Dianne Gryba, Jeri Ryba, Kari Mitchell, Tammy Villeneuve, Bonnie Nicholson; Second Vice President – Wendy Thienes; First Vice President – Sherry Sproule; President – Karen Unger; Past President – Karen MacCallum.

Karen Unger thanked outgoing Board member Kelly Stein for her service over the past three years. Michael Lyngstad was acknowledged for one year of service; Michael has tendered his resignation for personal reasons.

Karen Unger adjourned the meeting at 11:12 am.
