

### 2018 AGM Minutes

# Saskatchewan Music Festival Association October 27, 2018 Kerry Vickar Centre, 206 Bemister Avenue East, Melfort, SK

The meeting was called to order at 10:47 a.m. by President Karen Unger.

Jeri Ryba, accompanied by Dianne Gryba, led the singing of O Canada. This was followed by a moment of silence in memory of volunteers and committee members departed.

Karen Unger appointed Wendy Thienes as recording secretary.

Motion to approve the agenda:

Krista Brost/Kelly Stein

**CARRIED** 

The roll call was conducted by Karen MacCallum. Representatives from 21 District Festivals were present: Assiniboia, Battlefords, Carnduff, Gravelbourg, Humboldt, Kipling, Lafleche, Mainline, Meadow Lake, Melfort, Moose Jaw, Prairie Sunset, Prince Albert, Regina, Rosetown, Sask Valley, Saskatoon, Shaunavon, Swift Current, Unity, Watrous.

Karen MacCallum announced two Board positions to be filled, two 3-year positions. Krista Brost (Prairie Sunset) and Valentina May (Mainline) have been nominated for the 3-year positions. Karen called for further nominations from the floor. None were forthcoming.

The minutes of the 2017 AGM as recorded in the Annual Report were presented.

Motion: that the minutes be approved as presented

Tammy Villeneuve/Hannah Marple CARRIED

#### **Business Arising**

Finance Chair Sherry Sproule, presented the auditor's report as printed on page 68 of the Annual Report.

Total Assets for 2017/2018 --- \$745,218 Total Liabilities --- \$211,461 Net Assets --- \$533,757

Motion: to accept the auditor's report

Mariel Unger/Sandra Senga CARRIED

Motion: to appoint Marcia Herback as Auditor for the 2018-2019 fiscal year

Kari Mitchell/Carmen Ledding CARRIED

Karen MacCallum made the 2<sup>nd</sup> call for nominations from the floor. None were received.

Karen Unger presented an overview of the 2018 Annual Report.

Motion: to adopt the Annual Report as presented

Valentina May/Tammy Villeneuve CARRIED

Motion: to ratify the motions of the board from the past fiscal year

Carmen Ledding/Sandra Senga CARRIED

Motion: for each district festival to sell two books of 12 car raffle tickets each @ \$20/ticket (\$480)

Krista Brost/Linda Swab CARRIED



#### **New Business**

The 2019 Shurniak Concerto Competition will be held on February 23 on the University of Regina Campus, Riddell Centre, Main Theatre.

The 2019 Provincial Finals will be held on May 30-June 2 in Moose Jaw.

The 2019 FCMF Conference/AGM/National Music Festival will be in Saskatoon from August 8-12.

Karen Unger acknowledged the continuing support of the Saskatchewan Lotteries Trust Fund for Sport, Culture and Recreation, administered by SaskCulture.

Patricia Niekamp, of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers' Association (SRMTA) brought greetings from their association. SRMTA will begin to record presenters and videos will be available via their website. SRMTA and SMFA are exploring the possibility of a join fall conference, and invited suggestions for possible host sites.

Greetings from the following representative organizations are found in the Conference Program: Saskatchewan Band Association (SBA), Saskatchewan Choral Federation (SCF), Saskatchewan Orchestral Association (SOA), Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers' Association (SRMTA) and the Saskatchewan Music Educators Association (SMEA).

Greetings from the Federation of Canadian Music Festivals (FCMF) President, Joy MacFarlane-Burton, are found in the Conference Program. Joy is a Past President of SMFA. Joy brought personal greetings to the delegates and noted the excitement of FCMF to host Nationals in Saskatoon in 2019 during SMFA's 110<sup>th</sup> Anniversary. Karen MacCallum was the Saskatchewan representative on the FCMF Board of Governors. Karen Unger acknowledged their contributions to the music festival movement at the local, provincial and national levels and thanked Joy for her contributions at all levels.

Karen MacCallum made the third and last call for nominations from the floor. There were none.

#### Motion to close nominations:

Sherry Sproule/Michelle Blohm CARRIED

## Motion to elect by acclamation: Krista Brost and Valentina May, each for a 3-year term. Jeri Ryba/Yvonne Sutherland CARRIED

Karen MacCallum shared Krista Brost's bio. Valentina May outlined her involvement with music festivals.

Karen Unger welcomed the new board members. Karen thanked the office staff for their dedication and contributions, as well as the passionate team of board members.

Karen Unger thanked outgoing Board member Kari Mitchell for her service over the past three years. Karen Unger then thanked outgoing board member Karen MacCallum who has served for 12 years in a row on the Board of Directors. Kari and Karen each shared a few words with the delegates.

Karen Unger adjourned the meeting at 11:40 am.

Karen Unger presented incoming President Sherry Sproule with the President's gavel.



Sherry Sproule introduced the 2018-2019 Board: Directors – Dianne Gryba, Jeri Ryba, Bonnie Nicholson, Valentina May and Krista Brost; Second Vice President – Tammy Villeneuve; First Vice President – Wendy Thienes; President – Sherry Sproule; Past President – Karen Unger.

Carol Donhauser presented Karen Unger with an engraved gavel and thanked her for her service as President of SMFA.

A Board Meeting will take place Sunday morning at the Canalta Hotel Meeting Room.