

PO Box 37005 • Regina, SK S4S 7K3 Phone: 757-1722 • Toll Free: 1-888-892-9929 E-mail: <u>sask.music.festival@sasktel.net</u> • website: www.smfa.ca

Delegates of Saskatchewan Music Festivals Convene in Kindersley

From October 27 to 28, 2023, the Kindersley Music Festival hosted the annual Saskatchewan Music Festival Association Conference. A total of 21 District Festivals were represented by 30 delegates and provincial board members. Throughout the conference, delegates had opportunities to learn from presenters and round-table discussions and to network with one another.

Two former presidents of the SMFA, Karen MacCallum and Karen Unger, were named Honorary Life Members of the Association. Both Karen MacCallum and Karen Unger served on the provincial board in various roles for 12 years, and the SMFA is grateful for their many years of service.

Several District Festival volunteers were honoured at the annual Volunteer Award Luncheon, which was held on October 28. Jeri Ryba, SMFA 2023 President, presented awards to: **Helen Barclay** (*Kindersley Music Festival*), **Dianne Swanson** (*Regina Music Festival*), **Carmen Ledding** (*Rosetown & District Music Festival*), **Felice Mourre** (*Rosetown & District Music Festival*), **Kathleen Gatzke** (*Spiritwood & District Music Festival*), **Marg Andres** (*Twin Rivers Music Festival*), and **Valerie Redekop** (*Twin Rivers Music Festival*). Also receiving volunteer award but unable to attend the luncheon are **Colleen Schindel** (Estevan & District Music Festival), **Alyssa Thompson**



(Saskatoon Music Festival), Miriam Everett (Moosomin & District Music Festival). Darren Green was recognized, posthumously, for his contributions to the Moosomin & District Music Festival.

Adjudicating Excellence Awards were presented to Dr. Garry and Kathy Gable (pictured), in recognition of their many years of dedicated service as adjudicators for SMFA district festivals. A scholarship of \$300 is to be awarded at the 2024 Provincial Final Competitions (May 30 to June 2 in Saskatoon) in honour of their devoted work.

The 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Saskatchewan Music Festival Association was held virtually on November 25. Karen Frandsen (*Regina Music Festival*) and Krista Brost (*Meadow Lake & District Music Festival*) were elected by acclamation to three-year and one-year terms respectively. They join SMFA Board members Jeri Ryba (*President*), Dianne Gryba (1st Vice President), Alisha Mann (2nd Vice President), Tammy Villeneuve (Past President) and Clayton Braybrook, Heather Macnab and Penny Miles (*Directors*).

The SMFA, now in its 115th year of operation, is funded by grants from Sask Lotteries Trust for Sport, Culture and Recreation.

For further information, please contact Carol Donhauser, SMFA Executive Director PO Box 37005, Regina SK S4S 7K3 306.757.1722 | <u>sask.music.festival@sasktel.net</u> | <u>www.smfa.ca</u>

