SMFA Concerto Competition Winners

Since its inception in 1979, the SMFA Concerto Competition has gained momentum and recognition within the musical community of our province. It is with great pride that we list the winners of previous years' competitions:

1979

Tannis Gibson (1st) Guy Few (2nd) LawrenceAmundrud (3rd)

1980

Audrey Andrist (1st) Marlena Tureski (2nd) Arthur LaVertu (3rd)

1981

Stephen Beke (1st) Hwa-Jung Lee (2nd) Kathy Palyga (3rd)

1982

Kirsimarja Helppi (1st) Linda Bardutz (2nd) Guy Few (3rd)

1983

Hwa-Jung Lee (1st) Kent McWilliams (2nd) Bridget Hunt (3rd)

1984

Darren Lowe (1st) Eldon McBride (2nd) Bridget Hunt (3rd)

1985

Kent McWilliams (1st) Bridget Hunt (2nd) Janice Kwon & Collette Forer (3rd)

1986

Janice Kwon (1st) Erika Raum (2nd) Peter Pas (3rd)

1987

Linda Bardutz (1st) Erika Raum (2nd)

Daphne Leong & Colin Traquair (3rd)

1988

Erika Raum (1st) Mary Jane Kliewer (2nd) Nicolo Eugelmi (3rd)

1989

Nicolo Eugelmi (1st) Beatrice Ngai (2nd) Mark Altman (3rd)

1990

Mark Altman & Noel Laporte (1st) Grant Wenaus (2nd) Rob Thaller (3rd)

1991

Cherith James (1st) Marla McLennan (2nd) Roslyn Friesen (3rd)

1992

Michael Angell (1st) Anna Genest (2nd) Karmyn Dyck (3rd)

1993

Karmyn Dyck (1st) Allison Joynt (2nd) Kjersti Nostbakken (3rd)

1994

Deanne Mohr (1st) Sarah Konecsni (2nd) David England (3rd)

1995

Susan Ouyang (1st) David England (2nd) Ava Weidenhammer (3rd)

1996

Thomas Yu (1st) Nathan Degenhart (2nd) Ava Weidenhammer (3rd)

1997

Ava Weidenhammer (1st) Rodney Epp (2nd) Stephen Runge (3rd)

1998

Sarah Konecsni (1st) Allen Harrington (2nd) Preston Hawes (3rd)

1999

Stephen Runge (1st) Preston Hawes (2nd) Bede Hanley (3rd)

2000

Thomas Cosbey (1st) Allen Harrington (2nd) Nigel Taylor (3rd)

2001

Kayla Wong (1st) Junelle Rayne (2nd) Jonathan Dyck (3rd)



2002

Oxana Ossiptshouk (1st) Allen Harrington (2nd) Elation Paul (3rd)

2003

Eric Greenwood (1st) Jonathan Dyck (2nd) Amelia Borton (3rd)

2005

Yuli Chen (1st) Raymond Ko (2nd) James Coghlin (3rd)

2007

Raymond Ko (1st) Samuel Deason (2nd) Maria Fuller (3rd)

2009

Samuel Milner (1st) Justin Min (2nd) Helen Kashap (3rd)

2011

Samuel Deason (1st) Meagan Milatz (2nd) Alyssa Ramsay (3rd)

2013

Gerard Weber (1st) Jessica Ramsay (2nd) Alyssa Ramsay (3rd)

2015

William Boan (1st) Godwin Friesen (2nd) Sophie McBean (3rd)

2017

Godwin Friesen (1st) Rebecca Weger (2nd) Sophie McBean (3rd)

2019

Jonathan Craig Penner (1st) Bradley Little (2nd) Shion Tamashiro (3rd)

2021

Jerry Hu (1st) Alice Li (2nd) Bradley Little (3rd)

2023

Alice Li (1st) Connor Elias (2nd) Brandon Johnson (3rd)